#youmightbeanautismparentif Changing things makes your child throw a fit even if its for the better

Since Little Man was a toddler I have had a hard time balancing family style dinners. We would do it for a while then stop. I finally organized my kitchen and we are again doing family style dining because it is important in so many ways. So tonight Little Man tried to rush the “Talking” so that we could be done “talking” and watch Tron on his ipod. We took his ipod away till we were done and he was still lingering at the table. He was complaining “but I don’t want to talk I want to watch a movie and eat”. I had to tell him he won’t be with us forever he is going to grow up and move away and I won’t see him every day. I think we gave him a lot of food for thought. When he was done he cleared the table and sprayed it and wiped it without a complaint. I think he will come to realize he will like the undivided attention he receive from his dad and I because we aren’t busy or watching anything or texting so he will definitely have a captive audience!

2 thoughts on “#youmightbeanautismparentif Changing things makes your child throw a fit even if its for the better

  1. That’s great!! Using that time to build some fun family interactions will make a big difference in the long run… despite his complaints 🙂 We love to see when families take advantage of meal times to build communication and engagement! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

